Title IX » Title IX

Title IX

Title IX 

 

The Swain County School district does not discriminate against anyone based on sex in its education programs or activities and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 and federal regulations to not discriminate in such a manner.  This requirement extends to admission and employment.

 

Inquiries about the application of Title IX and its implementing federal regulations may be referred to the Title IX Coordinator and/or the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights in the Office of Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education.

 

 

Title IX Coordinator

Thomas A. Dills

828-488-3129 ext. 5125

tdills@swainmail.org

50 Main Street Suite 2

Bryson City, NC  28713

 

 

Title IX states that no person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.

 

Learn more about Title IX through the U.S. Dept. of Education at www.ed.gov.

 

 

Other School District Contacts

 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

Dr. Brandon Sutton

828-488-3129

bsutton@swainmail.org

 

Athletics                                             

Neil Blankenship

nblankenship@swainmail.org

 

Bright Adventure            

Trish Chapman

tchpman@swainmail.org

 

East Elementary                              

Evan Clapsaddle

eclapsaddle@swainmail.org

 

West Elementary            

Vicky Davis

vdavis@swainmail.org

 

Middle School

Tim Kurr

tkurr@swainmail.org

 

High School                       

Sonja Blankenship

sblankenship@swainmai.org

  

 

Swain County Schools Policies